Tony Awards 2022: Ariana DeBose will host the ceremony

This Wednesday (4), the organization of the Tony Awards 2022 announced that Ariana DeBose, 31, will host the ceremony. The actress, singer and dancer won the 2021 Oscar, Golden Globe, BAFTA Award and Screen Actors Guild Award, in the best supporting actress category for playing Anita in the musical “West Side Story”, directed and co-produced by Steven Spielberg, 75.

++“Spider-Man”: 20 years ago the hero debuted in the movie

“After the challenging last two years, there is no one better to bring the theater community together on this important night honoring the best of Broadway and share the joys of live performing once again than this extraordinarily talented artist.” said Jack Sussman, executive vice president of specials, music, live events and alternative programming at CBS in a statement. DeBose also played Alyssa Greene in “The Prom,” directed by Ryan Murphy, 56, and distributed by Netflix. In 2018, she won a Tony nomination for Best Actress in a Musical for “Summer: The Donna Summer Musical”.

“I’m coming home! I’m so honored to celebrate 75 years of excellence in theatre, but more importantly every member of this community who poured themselves into making sure the lights of Broadway have the opportunity to shine brightly once again! This is a dream come true, and I’m excited to see you all on June 12,” said DeBose in a statement. Nominations for the 75th Tony Awards will be announced on YouTube by Adrienne Warren, 34, and Joshua Henry, 37, next Monday, the 9th. The awards will take place on June 12 at Radio City Music Hall. The ceremony will begin at 8pm ET/5pm PT and will be broadcast live nationwide on CBS and Paramount+. Exclusive content will only air on Paramount+ one hour before the celebration begins at 7pm ET/4pm PT.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here